UUMFE June E-News - Archived

 

If you’re having trouble viewing this email, you can see it online.
060dc3d6-939d-491f-9cb4-ddbe57193b3a.png
June 13th, 2023

UU Ministry for Earth Reflections on the Business Resolution for the 2023 UUA General Assembly: “Complete Divestment from the Fossil Fuel Industry and Subsequent Reparations”

 

After reading the 2023 Business Resolution “Complete Divestment from the Fossil Fuel Industry and Subsequent Reparations” and the UUA Board of Trustees Response, Unitarian Universalist Ministry for Earth offers the following reflection:

We are humbled and inspired by the moral witness and labor of UU young adults and the coalition they’ve built working for transformation and calling our faith to practice our values of justice, equity, and compassion. We honor the countless hours of lay leaders, volunteers, paid staff and partners who work to create a robust and dynamic Association. In addition, we are encouraged by the numerous local congregations that pursue fossil fuel divestment, clean energy investment, work to bank with institutions independent of fossil fuels, and foster reparations for complicity in oppressive practices.

We are in agreement with the principles expressed at the end of the 2023 Business Resolution, ‘Complete Divestment From the Fossil Fuel Industry and Subsequent Reparations,” which calls “Unitarian Universalist congregations and Unitarian Universalists to review their congregational and personal investments in order to take action in response to climate change, build community connection and resilience, and pay reparations to historically exploited communities by divesting their holdings in fossil fuel companies.”

We recognize the UUA Board, after its discernment regarding the detailed actions specified in the Resolution, has expressed they “are convinced that this resolution as written would lead to UUA staff layoffs, legal challenges, and major losses in the assets we protect.”

Acknowledging that the UUA Board does not deem it advisable or possible to implement the detailed actions specified in the Resolution, we call upon the UUA to implement the spirit of this resolution and immediately author a framework for complete fossil fuel divestment and reparations for harms done through our past investing.  

It is incumbent upon us all as Unitarian Universalists in community to respond to the moral call of Earth and our young adult leaders with workable legal solutions. We have a chance to begin anew and create patterns to sustain our faith movement and work for intersectional climate justice in response to this moment. How will those in 2053 look upon our deliberations and discernments? May we act with those future generations in mind.

In gratitude,
Unitarian Universalist Ministry for Earth

P.S. If you’d like to keep up with the process of this Business Resolution, watch the recording of the mini-assembly that happend on June 10th. The mini-assembly involved a conversation between the UU YA Divestment Caucus, the UUA Board of Trustees, and delegates about proposed amendments to the resolution.

Watch Mini-Assembly Here

UUMFE%20email%20line.png

UUMFE at General Assembly

UUMFE%20%40%20GA.png

UUMFE is going to Pittsburgh! We’re excited to see many of you at General Assembly, both in person and online.

Workshops
All of our GA On Demand Workshops will be available to view before and during GA by going to this site. They are listed alphabetically there.

      1. Ecology as Scripture
        To facilitate a shift in hearts & minds, sacred activists must bring together science and spiritual tenets to organize our choices and actions. This workshop is an exploration of climate change and how connecting the climate crisis to religious beliefs, teachings, and practices can inspire local and global actions. We encourage you to watch with a small group (pairs, trios, or more!) so you can discuss the activities during the recording. Rev. Dr. Leonisa Ardizzone. Join us in-person at GA to discuss further: Friday June 23, 11:00 – 11:45 AM ET, Room 324.
      2. Exploring Pathways to Fossil-Free Personal Divestment
        Partnering with Rivers & Mountains GreenFaith Circle, UUMFE offers an on-demand workshop for individuals on how to move their finances from funding fossil fuel extraction, production, and distribution… and instead direct their bank deposits, insurance premiums, and investment portfolios to fund local businesses/farms, affordable housing, and development of renewable energy. Rev. Dr. Leonisa Ardizzone; Michael Richardson. Join us in-person at GA to discuss: Thursday, June 22, 1:00 – 1:45 PM ET, Room 323. We will also talk about congregational divestment in this session
      3. May You Survive and Thrive! A Biodiversity Curriculum
        Join UU Ministry for Earth for a workshop exploring our latest lifespan curriculum. We’ll engage with the lesson plans and share ways of bringing Biodiversity Sunday and a Procession of the Species to life each year at your congregation or community setting. Rev. Dr. Leonisa Ardizzone. Join us in-person at GA to discuss: Friday, June 23, Noon – 12:45 PM ET, Room 323 
      4. Spiritual Practices and the Climate Crisis
        UU Ministry for Earth hosts a restorative space to share spiritual practices and grounding experiences for all of us who grapple with the worries and pressures of ecological flourishing and our commitment to justice. We hope you’ll use the practices again and again. Lindsay Donnelly-Bullington; Rev. Dr. Leonisa Ardizzone; Rev. Daniel Lawlor; Rev. Kelly Dignan. Join us in-person at GA to discuss and practice further: Friday June 23, 1:00 – 1:45 PM ET, Room 323. 

Visit our booth   

  • Wednesday, 3:00 – 3:30 pm ET, June 21, 2023 — Celebrate Summer Solstice and participate in a joys and sorrows ritual.
  • Thursday, 11am-11:30am ET, June 22, 2023 — Preview our new and updated lifespan curricula
  • Friday, 2pm-2:30pm ET, June 23, 2023 — Preview our free monthly worship resources

Join online discussions on Whova:

  • Wednesday,  4:30 – 5:00 pm ET, July 21, 2023 — Summer Solstice joys and sorrows ritual online
  • Thursday, 2:00 – 2:30 pm ET, June 22, 2023 — Open discussion about climate justice
  • Saturday, 10:00 – 10:30 am ET, June 24, 2023 — Preview our free monthly worship resources

Volunteer at UUMFE’s booth!
Explain our great work in the world and meet all the people at GA excited about environmental justice.  You can sign up for a shift at the booth here:  UUMFE 2023 GA Exhibit Booth Signup. We are looking for people to volunteer from 4 pm to 5:30 pm on Wednesday, 5 pm to 7 pm on Thursday, and 1 pm to 2 pm on Friday. We will provide training at GA. Thank you in advance.

UUMFE st General Assembly Webpage

UUMFE%20email%20line.png

EMBODIMENT

Summer Solstice Joys and Sorrows Ritual 

Screen%20Shot%202023-04-05%20at%204_45_30%20PM.png

Join us online for a Joys and Sorrows Ritual on the Summer Solstice, June 21st at 3pm ET. We are so grateful for a chance to be gathering together at the turn of the seasons. This is an online event happening during General Assembly. Please register ahead of time on the Whova app and use this link to join the Zoom. (Link is to join, not to register)

Join Zoom

 

From Our Partners, Sunday Morning Worship at General Assembly 

GA%20Logo.png

Sunday, June 25th
8am PT/ 9am MT/ 10am CT/ 11am ET

Join us for the largest annual gathering of UUs joining in worship. This powerful, communal worship experience will stream on Sunday, June 25, 2023 at 11:00 am ET / 10:00 am CT / 9:00 am MT / 8:00 am PT. Members of the public are welcome to view the service. In-person attendance to this service will be complimentary and open to visitors who are vaccinated, masked, and sign an agreement to honor the guidelines in place for the event.

The Office of the UUA President, the Rev. Susan Frederick Gray, is pleased to announce that the Rev. Manish Mishra-Marzetti, Senior Minister of the First UU Congregation of Ann Arbor, MI will lead the 2023 Sunday Service at GA. The title of the service is “Ever Willing: Becoming the People Our World Needs.”

Stream the Worship Live Here

 

From Our Partners, UU College of Social Justice and Nourish Dinner Church: A Restorative Worship

unnamed(2).jpg

Thursday, June 22
7:30am PT/ 8:30am MT/ 9:30am CT/ 10:30am ET

The UU College of Social Justice is inviting you to a special fortifying online Nourish worship service as summer begins in the northern hemisphere! Before the activities and energies of the Unitarian Universalist Association 2023 General Assembly really start flowing…amidst all that you are already doing, holding, resisting, and shaping in this world to help create a more beautiful tomorrow for everyone…and whether you plan to attend GA or not…you are invited to join us for an hour of nourishment and rest.

We invite you to join the UUCSJ with the Revs. Aisha Ansano and Emily Conger of NOURISH as they guide us through a meditative, slow-paced, embodied worship service to give our souls the sustenance they need. The world asks so much from you. We hope this is a chance for you to also receive. Let us join together in spiritually grounded fortification for our justice-centered lives.

Register for Worship

 

Summer Break
Monthly Full Moon Gatherings and Monthly Musings are taking a break. We’ll be back in September. In the meantime, be sure to check out our website for past Musings (worship and small group ministry resources) and past Full Moon Gatherings. New meditations have been added to our library.

How are you staying connected to nature and your love of life? How do reverence and gratitude sustain you for the work of climate justice?  We’d love to hear your stories. You can share your feedback on the Musings and your stories here. 

UUMFE%20email%20line.png

EMPOWERMENT

Updated UUMFE Curriculum

Screen%20Shot%202023-04-12%20at%202_24_24%20PM.png

 

Be sure to check out our updated curriculum, such as “May You Survive and Thrive” on Padelt, a new online format. 

Find Updated Curriculum Here


CreateClimateJustice.net Update

Screen%20Shot%202023-06-10%20at%207_21_35%20PM.png

 

After careful consideration, lots of conversations, and a strong governance process, we have decided to cease using and supporting createclimatejustice.net. If you’ve been a user of this platform, please read our longer update below.

To continue your good work, you can share and find local climate justice events, engage with webinars and training, and join in climate justice campaigns at the Side With Love Action Center.

Diane Brooks and Kelly Dignanwill be leading a final Q&A session about createclimatejustice.net on Sunday, July 24  at 5:30pm PT/ 6:30pm MT/ 7:30pm CT/ 8:30pm ET to answer any questions you have about downloading your materials.

Read Full Update
Link for CCJ Q&A Session

**Note that this is the link to join the Zoom, not to register.

UUMFE%20email%20line.png

ENGAGEMENT 

Join the UUMFE Board

UUMFE%20Logo%20print.png

UUMFE seeks advisors and Board members with an interest in Board governance and/or people management. As an advisor, you could work with us for an hour or two per month to help our staff thrive and/or strengthen our Board processes. As a Board Member, you would “Go All In” and contribute your talents and skills to help advocate for the flourishing of all life on Earth!  The Board and Staff are a close community of UU’s who want our mission to be embraced by all. Learn more here.

UUMFE is geographically dispersed, Zoom-friendly, and committed to using forward-looking, dynamic governance practices. Help us become a stronger, more dynamic, multicultural, multigenerational and counter-oppressive Board! Reach out to us at office@uumfe.org.

End the Era of Fossil Fuels! Mobilization Call for UUs!

Screen%20Shot%202023-06-10%20at%207_09_42%20PM.png

Biden promised to be a climate president – yet under his watch, the U.S. continues to be the biggest producer of oil and gas in the world. In the first few years of his term, he approved more lease sales for new oil and gas drilling on federal lands and waters than Trump. And his administration has approved new oil and gas projects, like the Willow oil drilling project in Alaska and multiple oil and gas export terminals in the Gulf. Global scientists have been abundantly clear – we cannot avoid the very worst impacts of the climate crisis if we allow for any more fossil development.

UUs, it’s time to show up! This June, People vs. Fossil Fuels are mobilizing to turn up the heat and make Biden take real climate action – by ending the era of fossil fuels.  Join us for a national week of action  June 8th – 11th 2023 to demand Biden use his executive powers to end the era of fossil fuels and declare a climate emergency!

Action Steps:

Register for Movement Chaplaincy Debrief Space


From Our Partner, Side With Love: Climate Justice Brainstorm!

Green-Sanctuary-1024x401.png

 

Wednesday, June 14th
4pm PT/ 5pm MT/ 6pm CT/ 7pm ET

We know we need to focus on climate justice, but where do we start? For many Green Sanctuary Teams, the Justice campaign is the most challenging and also the one with the most room for growth and collaboration.  Bring your questions and ideas and join the conversation!

Register Here

 

From Our Partner, Side With Love: Get Green to Go Green Webinar

Get-green-go-green.png

Thursday, June 15th
2pm PT/ 3pm MT/ 4pm CT/ 5pm ET

Commercial and residential buildings are responsible for 13% of carbon emissions in the U.S. The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) recently announced a first-of-its-kind investment to fund energy-efficiency improvements in the nonprofit sector which includes houses of worship. The Renew America’s Nonprofits program will provide $50 million dollars for efficiency projects, reducing carbon emissions and lowering utilities costs, allowing critical funds to be redirected to mission-focused work. Join us on June 15, 2023, 5:00 – 6:15 pm ET / 2:00 – 3:15 pm PT for the Get Green to Go Green: Apply for up to $200,000 for Congregational Energy Efficiency Webinar with Daniel Bresette, Environmental and Energy Study Institute (EESI) President, who will educate us about how you can take advantage of the grant and the grant process. Co-sponsored by Side With Love. Read more about the event here.

Register for the Webinar

UUMFE%20email%20line.png

RECIPE TO SHARE

Miso-Tahini Chocolate Covered Strawberries

Screen%20Shot%202023-06-12%20at%2011_50_29%20AM.png

It’s Pride Month and strawberry season, so we picked this treat from Mississippi Vegan. Great for holiday potlucks, graduation celebrations, and picnics in the park!

Curious to experiment? Try out the recipe!

Try the Recipe

UUMFE%20email%20line.png

GRATITUDE (and Call to Action)

unnamed-1.jpg

 

Did you hear the news? The Juliana 21 are back on the path to constitutional climate justice! Yesterday, the U.S. District Court ruled in favor of the youth plaintiffs and their landmark federal constitutional climate claims will finally be decided at trial in open court. Finally, after 8 years, the evidence of the unconstitutionality of the U.S. government’s actions knowingly worsening the climate crisis will be heard in open court.

UUMFE was involved with the Juliana vs The United States during its formation and early years. The photo above is of former Programs Director, Aly Tharp, touring with one of the plaintiffs, Levi Draheim. Levi is a Unitarian Universalist youth who was 8 years old when this case began and is now almost 16! We are now asking you to support these powerful youth by taking

 

[Message clipped]  View entire message

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.