PWR Newsletter – December 2023 - Archived

“PWR Transitions Team Holiday Parties,  PWR & UUA News, and more!
Email not displaying correctly? View it in your browser.
Pacific Western Region
Newsletter • December 2023
Register Now for the PWR Transitions Team Holiday Parties!

Come to a PWR Holiday Party online – brought to you by your Transitions Team. It’ll be fun. You’ll get to meet lots of people in the entire region!

Just register here and join us either Saturday, December 16, 2023 from 12-2 PM Pacific/1-3 PM Mountain/10 AM-12 PM Hawaii/11 AM-1 PM Alaska or Tuesday, December 19 from 7-9 PM Mountain/6-8 PM Pacific/4-6 PM Hawaii/5-7 PM Alaska for a PWR holiday gathering hosted by your Transitions Team.

We will break into groups several times to allow you to meet different people. We will have ice-breaker questions if you want to use them. This is a time to socialize with UUs from a huge part of the US.

 

In this Issue

PWR Transitions Team Holiday Parties
PWR & UUA News
Youth & Emerging Adult News
Pacific Southwest News
InSpirit Update

PWR Links
Calendar and Events
Staff Contacts
News
Job Postings
Youth Ministries
RE Trainings

PWR Lead
Carlton Elliott Smith


PWR Program Staff
Summer Albayati
Note: January Newsletter Deadline
Please note that due to the December holidays, the deadline for submissions to the January newsletter will be December 15th. Submissions can be sent to pwr@uua.org.
PWR & UUA NEWS
Pacific Western Regional Assembly

Let’s gather and connect at this year’s Regional Assembly! The UUA General Assembly will be all virtual this year, but we are hosting a Pacific Western Regional event where you can participate either in person or online. Regional Assembly will be held at the lovely First Universalist Church in Denver Colorado, on April 19th and 20th. There will be music and meetings, Keynote and conversations. More details to come. The Rev. Sarah Schurr is the staff working on much of the programing for this event. If you have any great ideas for our assembly, reach out to Sarah at sschurr@uua.org.

As part of our planning we ask that you fill out this survey. It is one way we can hear what matters to you.

Distinguished Service Award Nominations Now Open

The Award for Distinguished Service to the Cause of Unitarian Universalism (often informally referred to as the Distinguished Service Award) is one of the most prestigious awards given by the UUA. Recipients of this award have strengthened the institutions of our UU denomination, clarified our message in extraordinary ways, and exemplified what Unitarian Universalism stands for.

The Award Committee seeks nominations from throughout our Association so it may select from a broad range of the most exemplary leaders in our movement. The deadline for receipt of nominations is January 1, 2024.

Please visit this link for more information on how to submit your nomination.

System Theory Renaissance Module

February 2, 2024 to February 23, 2024

Central to our understanding of congregational systems is a grounding in the awareness that “everything we do is faith development; everything we teach is Unitarian Universalism and that the congregation is the curriculum.”
That expression, by Connie Goodbread, is the first part of going deeper into congregational systems, yet the second part must include an immersion into System Theory.

The “System Theory” Renaissance Module will:

  • Examine human beings as emotional, intellectual, and physical beings.
  • Discuss how everything humans create, discover, destroy, and build is born out of our humanity.
  • Explore and clarify what it means to be a Unitarian Universalist.
  • Discuss the human qualities that help and hinder the growth of the beloved community.

The overarching lens of System Theory will ground the experience and aid religious educators, and other religious professionals, to apply these learnings to their own professional context.

The Renaissance and Music Leadership Professional Development Programs provide Unitarian Universalist Religious Professionals learning communities within which they can easily access applicable skills and tools for religious leadership. Courses are also open to interested lay leaders.

REGISTRATION DEADLINE: Registration for this Renaissance Module is limited to 24 participants and will close on January 31, 2024. Register here.
Save the date for 30 Days of Love 2024!
January 15-February 14, 2024

Within each weekly theme, which will connect with one of our intersectional justice priorities, we plan to offer prayers, blessings, grounding, and meditative practices, a story or time for all ages, as well as a reflection from one of Side With Love’s program and field staff.

To get an idea of what to expect or to enjoy some meditative breaks during your lunch this month, see last year’s offerings at sidewithlove.org/30daysoflove2023.

[Message clipped]  View entire message

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.