GA Welcome Party, Virtual Dance Party, Prepare for the Banner Parade - Archived

Join us online or in-person in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
SUPPORT PITTSBURGH BIPOC-OWNED BUSINESSES
Welcome Party featuring Pittsburgh’s Premiere Dance Band, Artistree!
Excitement is in the air for the GA 2023 Opening Night Welcome Party featuring Pittsburgh’s Premiere Dance Band, Artistree! This 7-piece rhythm and blues band can perform just about anything. With a highly interactive style, Artistree performs classic covers like “Uptown Funk”, “Don’t Stop Believin’”, “I Can’t Go For That”, “Let’s Groove Tonight”, and more. Come to the rooftop of the David Lawrence Convention Center Wednesday, 9:15 p.m June 21 after the Opening Celebration and General Session, and be prepared to dance the night away!
Virtual Dance Party with DJ Reverence
Make music and dance a part of your GA worship experience. Join us Saturday, June 24 at 9:00 p.m. ET/8:00 p.m. CT/7:00 p.m. MT/6:00 p.m. PT for the ultimate GA Dance Party hosted by Gianni Fogliano, aka. DJ Reverence. This virtual event is all the reason you need to dance around your living room (or hotel room)!
an image of GA attendees processing in the banner parade
Prepare for the Banner Parade
For the first time since 2019 we welcome back the traditional procession of banners. If you would like your congregation’s banner to be hung in the Convention Center after the procession, you will need to register your banner prior to the procession in the GA Volunteer office on Tuesday from noon to 5:00 p.m. or Wednesday from 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Banner carriers will line up for the parade Wednesday at 5:45 p.m. in Concourse B and C beginning near the entrance of the GA Exhibit Hall (Hall B).
Banner Pick-up is on Sunday from 12:30 p.m. to 2:30 p.m. at the registration kiosks on Concourse A.
GA Registration Rates Increase May 15
register now from vecteezy.com
Please join us virtually or in-person for the 62nd annual UUA General Assembly. Register soon as registration rates increase on May 15. The 2023 Ware Lecture with Dr. Imani Perry will be available to GA registrants only. In-person registration is required to attend the event in Pittsburgh. In-person or full virtual registration is required to live-stream the event on June 24, or access the video on-demand where it will be posted for a limited time after GA.
In-person registration is $500 for adults, and $350 for high school youth, emerging adults (18-24), and retired and candidate ministers. Full Virtual Registration is $300. Register now before in-person rates increase on May 15. Financial support is also available.
Reserve Your GA Accessibility Equipment by May 15
Accessibility equipment is now available for reservation. Every effort will be made to provide you with accommodations or assistive equipment to enable or enhance your GA experience. Reserve your accessibility equipment on the Accessibility Services Request Form. Persons requesting accessibility rental equipment will be asked to contribute an amount up to the actual cost. To request an accommodation not listed, please provide more information on the form. We strongly encourage you to reserve no later than May 15, so that arrangements for rented equipment can be made.
The GA App Will Launch June 1
The GA App by Whova will be available to all in-person and full virtual registrants (not business-only virtual delegates). In June, registrants will be able to access the app by internet browser or by download for Android or Apple devices. If you don’t already have a Whova account from prior years, you will need to create an account with the same email you registered with for GA. The app will recognize you by your email address – there is no invitation code for our event.
In early June, attendees will be able to access nearly 60 on-demand workshops via the GA App!
What to Expect at GA 2023 Webinar
At this year’s multiplatform GA 2023, we will explore the power, possibility, purpose, struggle, and joy of meeting as Unitarian Universalists. Whether you’re a first-time delegate or a long-time attendee, we invite you to join us to learn more about what will happen at GA this year. Members of the Board of Trustees will provide an overview, along with information for delegates regarding the business sessions.
This webinar will be 75 minutes in length, and a recording of it will be posted on this page at a later date. Registration is required.
What to Expect at GA 2023 Webinar
Monday, May 22, 2023
7pm ET / 6pm CT / 5pm MT / 4pm PT
Upcoming Presidential Candidates Forums
Presidential Candidate Forums will be held to allow UUs to learn more about the Rev. Dr. Sofía Betancourt. Forums will be held in-person and livestreamed. Register to participate using the links below.
Saturday, May 20, 2023
Unitarian Society of Santa Barbara: 1535 Santa Barbara St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
4pm ET / 3pm CT / 2pm MT / 1pm PT
Saturday, June 3, 2023
First Unitarian Church of Dallas: 4015 Normandy Ave, Dallas, TX 75205
2pm ET / 1pm CT/ 12pm MT / 11am PT
Article II Amendment Discussion Workshops
This image is of a chalice with and overlay of theword love over the flame, with six outstretched arms that create a circle
around each of the core values and form a six petal flower shape.
At General Assembly 2023, Unitarian Universalists will take an initial vote on proposed changes to Article II of the UUA Bylaws, which includes the current UUA purposes, principles, sources, and clauses on inclusion and freedom of belief.
The following Zoom workshops to discuss amendments to the Article II Study Commission proposal (PDF) are open to all Unitarian Universalists. Whether or not you submitted a suggestion or idea, we encourage you to join us for one or more of these workshops.
Amendment Discussion Workshop #1
Thursday, May 11 7pm ET / 6pm CT / 5pm MT / 4pm PT
Amendment Discussion Workshop #2
Thursday, May 18 7pm ET / 6pm CT / 5pm MT / 4pm PT
Amendment Discussion Workshop #3
Sunday, May 21 4pm ET / 3pm CT / 2pm MT / 1pm PT
Governance at General Assembly: Important Dates and Deadlines
  • May 22 – Final business agenda posted (30 days beforehand).
  • May 26 – Proposed amendments to the rules of procedure and business resolution are due to the Board.
  • June 5 – Deadline for formally submitting Article II amendments to be considered a priority.
  • June 14 – Board posts final text of rules of procedure and business resolution with incorporated amendments.
GA Business Discussion Board Is Here!
GA Housing Update

[Message clipped]  View entire message

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.