GA Update for Friday, May 21 - Archived

Unitarian Universalist Association Virtual General Assembly in June 2021
Special Collections
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS FUEL OUR MOVEMENT
This year’s GA includes four collections benefitting the Living Tradition Fund, the Katie Tyson Fund for Youth and Young Adult Ministries, Side with Love, and this year’s local beneficiary of the Sunday worship collection, MICAH: Milwaukee Inner-city Congregations Allied for Hope.
Participants can support each collection by donating online, via text-to-give, or by clicking on the Donate button in the GA mobile app. Payment options include credit card, PayPal, or Apple Pay.
New this year is an Express Donate option allowing you to support all four collections with a single gift. For example, make an express donate gift of $100 and each collection receives $25. Learn more about the collections.
UUA ELECTION 2021: CANDIDATES FORUM ON JUNE 1
A Candidates Forum sponsored by the Election Campaign Practices Committee (ECPC) is scheduled for June 1 at 5 p.m. PT / 6 p.m. MT / 7 p.m. CT / 8 p.m. ET. Jay Kiskel and Rev. Sam Trumbore are running for a single position (#8) on the UUA Board of Trustees. Candidates will give statements, answer questions, and engage in discussion. Rev. KC Slack and Elizabeth McGregor of the ECPC will serve as moderators. Attendees are invited to submit questions for the candidates in advance by email to elections@uua.org, or during the forum by typing them into the Q&A panel. Register for the Candidates Forum Webinar on Zoom.
GA Youth Staff
GA YOUTH
GA Youth is a program including several events scheduled and organized by youth within the Unitarian Universalist community. These events are meant to create a comfortable, sacred space for all attendees, with a focus on youth engagement. On the docket is a bridging service for graduating high school seniors, several youth-led worships, a game night, chat rooms, and space for the youth caucus to make its voice heard. Youth are also welcome to attend other GA events, and are highly encouraged to do so. There will be an orientation to help familiarize attendees with the guidelines and scheduled events for the week. Come join this lovely, creative, and inspired group of young people as we share in a week of community and faith.
Don't Forget
GA REMINDERS
  • Video submissions for the GA Drag Show are due Thursday, May 27. Selected videos (3-5 minutes in length) will premiere Friday evening, June 25 at Friday, June 25 at 8:30 p.m. ET / 5:30 p.m. PT. $50 compensation will be offered per original submission, plus tips via Venmo and CashApp.
  • If you are planning to stream the GA Sunday Morning Worship for your congregation’s service on June 27 but the time (9 a.m. PT / noon ET) does not work, you may submit a request for a private web link to the service. This will allow you to stream the GA worship at the best time for your congregation. A link will be sent to requesting congregations by 11 am CT on Saturday, June 26.
PREPARE FOR GA BY JOINING A UUA BOARD WEBINAR
The UUA Board invites you to register for two new webinars. What to Expect at GA 2021 will be offered four times, with two additional sessions providing an in-depth look at the Rules of Procedure. Each webinar will last 75 minutes and advance registration is required. Webinars will be recorded and posted on uua.org for on-demand viewing.
What to Expect at GA 2021 Webinar
Wednesday, May 26
4 pm PT / 5 pm MT / 6 pm CT / 7 pm ET
What to Expect at GA 2021 Webinar
Wednesday, June 2
4 pm PT / 5 pm MT / 6 pm CT / 7 pm ET
What to Expect at GA 2021 Webinar
Thursday, June 10
4 pm PT / 5 pm MT / 6 pm CT / 7 pm ET
In-Depth Look at the Rules of Procedure Webinar
Saturday, June 12
10 am PT / 11 am MT / noon CT / 1 pm ET
UUA BOARD OPEN HOUSE
UUA Co-Moderators Meg Riley and Charles Du Mond invite you to come and check in with the UUA Board of Trustees at its upcoming Zoom Open House. Bring your questions and chat about:
  • what the Board has planned leading up to General Assembly
  • General Assembly 2021
  • serving Unitarian Universalism as a volunteer at the national level
  • the progress of the Article II Study Commission
  • your congregation’s engagement with Widening the Circle of Concern
  • the UU issues that matter to you
Advance registration is required. Open Houses are held monthly and are not recorded. We look forward to seeing you!
Tuesday, June 8: 4 pm PT / 5 pm MT / 6 pm CT / 7 pm ET
a stamp with the word certified
DELEGATE CREDENTIALS
The Credential Manager is now open and your congregation can begin distributing member delegate credentials for General Assembly. Credentials allow member delegates registered for GA to vote on business matters. Congregations are responsible for assigning credentials to member delegates only. Eligible ministers and religious educators can retrieve their delegate credentials via ga-delegate.uua.org.
FLASH POLL
Do you enjoy receiving weekly GA email updates?
Yes, very informative
I would prefer they come less often
Weekly emails? Since January? I had no idea
I just started receiving these
I haven’t been reading them until now/recently
PREVIOUS POLL RESULTS
Never Gonna:
FOLLOW US ON SOCIAL MEDIA
Are these weekly emails not enough GA news for you? Follow us on:
2021 WARE LECTURE: STACEY ABRAMS AND DESMOND MEADE
Stacey Abrams
STACEY ABRAMS

[Message clipped]  View entire message

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.