GA Update for Friday, April 30

Unitarian Universalist Association Virtual General Assembly in June 2021
STREAMING THE SUNDAY SERVICE
Join us for the largest annual gathering of UUs convening virtually for worship. This powerful, communal worship experience will stream on Sunday, June 27, 2021 at 9 am PT / 10 am MT / 11 am CT / noon ET. Members of the public are welcome to view the service.
If you are planning to stream the General Assembly service for your congregation’s Sunday service but the time above does not work, you may submit a request for a private web link to the service. This will allow you to stream the GA worship at the best time for your congregation. A link will be sent to requesting congregations by 11 am CT on Saturday, June 26.
UUA BOARD OPEN HOUSE
UUA Co-Moderators Meg Riley and Charles Du Mond invite you to come and check in with the UUA Board of Trustees at its upcoming Zoom Open House. Bring your questions and chat about:
  • what the Board has planned leading up to General Assembly
  • General Assembly 2021
  • serving Unitarian Universalism as a volunteer at the national level
  • the progress of the Article II Study Commission
  • your congregation’s engagement with Widening the Circle of Concern
  • the UU issues that matter to you
Advance registration is required. We look forward to seeing you!
Tuesday, May 11: 4 pm PT / 5 pm MT / 6 pm CT / 7 pm ET
Tuesday, June 8: 4 pm PT / 5 pm MT / 6 pm CT / 7 pm ET
2021 DRAFT STATEMENT OF CONSCIENCE
After three years of study and action on the 2018-2021 Congregational Study/Action Issue Undoing Systemic White Supremacy: A Call to Prophetic Action, the General Assembly delegates will vote this June whether to adopt the draft Statement of Conscience (SOC), prepared by the Commission on Social Witness with feedback from congregations. Adopted Statements of Conscience focus the efforts of UU congregations and other UU groups on the topic of the SOC, shape the meaning of contemporary Unitarian Universalism, and empower the UUA staff to lobby our positions in pending legislation.
Read the draft Statement of Conscience (SOC) Undoing Systemic White Supremacy: A Call to Prophetic Action
VISIT THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY EXHIBIT HALL
The 2021 Virtual Exhibit Hall is now live on the Whova app and available to GA registrants. Our exhibitors have been adding video and handouts to their virtual spaces and are ready for you to say hello.
During GA, exhibitors will be sharing live demos, holding networking events, and offering raffles and giveaways!
For those not yet registered for GA, view profiles of our exhibitors.
It’s not too late to become an exhibitor!
GA PRIDE DRAG SHOW RETURNS!
Thanks to sponsorship support from UUA Ministries and Faith Development – LGBTQ and Multicultural Programs Team, the Virtual GA Pride Drag Show returns! Register for GA and plan to join Rev. Presha Mann (Rev. Marcus Fogliano), our most fabulous host, for an evening of joy and fun!
Attention Queens and Kings: upload a 3-to-5-minute video of your drag performance by Thursday, May 27. Selected videos will premiere Friday evening, June 25 at 5:30 pm PT / 6:30 pm MT / 7:30 pm CT / 8:30 pm ET. $50 compensation will be offered per original submission, plus tips via Venmo and CashApp.
DELEGATE CREDENTIALS
a stamp with the word certified
The Credential Manager is now open and your congregation can begin distributing member delegate credentials for General Assembly. Credentials allow member delegates registered for GA to vote on business matters. Congregations are responsible for assigning credentials to member delegates only. Eligible ministers and religious educators can retrieve their delegate credentials via ga-delegate.uua.org.
FLASH POLL
Is a hot dog a sandwich?
Yes
No
Something Else
PREVIOUS POLL RESULTS
decorative
Which best describes your diet?
▇ Macrobiotic / Raw 0.5%
▇ Paleotarian 1%
▇ Pollotarian 2%
▇ Something Else 6%
▇ Carnivore 6%
▇ Vegan 6%
▇ Pescatarian 8%
▇ Vegetarian 15%
▇ Flexitarian 15%
▇ Omnivore 40%
FOLLOW US ON SOCIAL MEDIA
Are these weekly emails not enough GA news for you? Follow us on:
2021 WARE LECTURE: STACEY ABRAMS AND DESMOND MEADE
Stacey Abrams
STACEY ABRAMS
DESMOND MEADE
The UUA President invites a distinguished guest each year to address the General Assembly as the Ware Lecturer. Please join us Saturday, June 26 at 7:00 p.m. EDT / 6:00 p.m. CDT / 5:00 p.m. MDT / 4:00 p.m. PDT. General Assembly registration is required.
REGISTER NOW!
If you haven’t registered for Virtual GA 2021 already, there is no better time than right now! Registered attendees are among the first to hear program announcements, such as the Ware Lecturer, and only registered attendees will have access to the NEW! GA app. So, register early to join online discussions, familiarize yourself with the GA schedule, and find your place in our community of communities.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.