GA Update for for Week Ending May 5 - Archived

Join us online or in-person in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
GA Registration Rates Increase May 15
register now from vecteezy.com
Please join us virtually or in-person for the 62nd annual UUA General Assembly. Register soon as registration rates increase on May 15. The 2023 Ware Lecture with Dr. Imani Perry will be available to GA registrants only. In-person registration is required to attend the event in Pittsburgh. In-person or full virtual registration is required to live-stream the event on June 24, or access the video on-demand where it will be posted for a limited time after GA.
In-person registration is $500 for adults, and $350 for high school youth, emerging adults (18-24), and retired and candidate ministers. Full Virtual Registration is $300. Register now before in-person rates increase on May 15. Financial support is also available.
Meet the 2023 Local Area Task Force
2023 Local Area Task Force
From left to right: Rob Schwartz, Alan Halperin, Jennifer Halperin, LaTonya Richardson, Claire Pullen, Geneva Pullen, Jennifer McGlothin, Brenda Shiring, Diane Baillie, Betty Clark
Each year, local volunteers in the GA host city are recruited to decorate the convention center spaces, create meditation spaces, offer local information resources, organize and lead the banner parade, and give a warm welcome to the thousands of UUs attending in-person. Some members of the Pittsburgh Local Area Task Force recently met with the GA staff for a walk-through of the David Lawrence Convention Center. The team looks forward to hosting GA in Pittsburgh!
The GA App Will Launch June 1
The GA App by Whova will be available to all in-person and full virtual registrants (not business-only virtual delegates). In June, registrants will be able to access the app by internet browser or by download for Android or Apple devices. If you don’t already have a Whova account from prior years, you will need to create an account with the same email you registered with for GA. The app will recognize you by your email address – there is no invitation code for our event.
In early June, attendees will be able to access nearly 60 on-demand workshops via the GA App!
Wi-Fi at the David L. Lawrence Convention Center
an attendee reading a GA business update on their tablet
During GA, there will be a volunteer team onsite in Pittsburgh to assist registrants with accessing Wi-Fi in the convention center and the GA App on their personal devices. There will be free basic Wi-Fi available to registrants throughout the David L. Lawrence Convention Center; logon instructions will be available in the GA Program PDF and in the GA App. In-person and virtual registrants will also be able to access support online via uua.org/ga/help.
What to Expect at GA 2023 Webinar
At this year’s multiplatform GA 2023, we will explore the power, possibility, purpose, struggle, and joy of meeting as Unitarian Universalists. Whether you’re a first-time delegate or a long-time attendee, we invite you to join us to learn more about what will happen at GA this year. Members of the Board of Trustees will provide an overview, along with information for delegates regarding the business sessions.
This webinar will be 75 minutes in length, and a recording of it will be posted on this page at a later date. Registration is required.
What to Expect at GA 2023 Webinar
Monday, May 22, 2023
7pm ET / 6pm CT / 5pm MT / 4pm PT
Upcoming Presidential Candidates Forums
Presidential Candidate Forums will be held to allow UUs to learn more about the Rev. Dr. Sofía Betancourt. Forums will be held in-person and livestreamed. Register to participate using the links below.
Saturday, May 20, 2023
Unitarian Society of Santa Barbara: 1535 Santa Barbara St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
4pm ET / 3pm CT / 2pm MT / 1pm PT
Saturday, June 3, 2023
First Unitarian Church of Dallas: 4015 Normandy Ave, Dallas, TX 75205
2pm ET / 1pm CT/ 12pm MT / 11am PT
Article II Amendment Discussion Workshops
This image is of a chalice with and overlay of theword love over the flame, with six outstretched arms that create a circle around each of the core values and form a six petal flower shape.
At General Assembly 2023, Unitarian Universalists will take an initial vote on proposed changes to Article II of the UUA Bylaws, which includes the current UUA purposes, principles, sources, and clauses on inclusion and freedom of belief.
The following Zoom workshops to discuss amendments to the Article II Study Commission proposal (PDF) are open to all Unitarian Universalists. Whether or not you submitted a suggestion or idea, we encourage you to join us for one or more of these workshops.
Amendment Discussion Workshop #1
Thursday, May 11 7pm ET / 6pm CT / 5pm MT / 4pm PT
Amendment Discussion Workshop #2
Thursday, May 18 7pm ET / 6pm CT / 5pm MT / 4pm PT
Amendment Discussion Workshop #3
Sunday, May 21 4pm ET / 3pm CT / 2pm MT / 1pm PT
Governance at General Assembly: Important Dates and Deadlines
  • May 22 – Final business agenda posted (30 days beforehand).
  • May 26 – Proposed amendments to the rules of procedure and business resolution are due to the Board.
  • June 5 – Deadline for formally submitting Article II amendments to be considered a priority.
  • June 14 – Board posts final text of rules of procedure and business resolution with incorporated amendments.
GA Business Discussion Board Is Here!
GA Housing Update
A variety of options remain for GA attendees seeking housing in Pittsburgh. The GA Housing webpage is the most up-to-date resource for GA hotels. If you have questions or require support, contact GAhousing@uua.org.
Home Hospitality
Do you live within proximity (20 miles or less) of Pittsburgh and interested in offering home hospitality? The GA Room Share Board is a resource for anyone, including home hospitality offerings. Simply fill out the form below and you’ll automatically be added to the Room Share Board. There, attendees seeking roommates and housing can browse the list and reach out directly to discuss options.

[Message clipped]  View entire message

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.