Act Globally: Upcoming Town Hall Meetings, News and Resources - Archived

Updates from the UUA International Office
What’s Next for Global U/U Collaboration
The Leadership and Design Team has been exploring, listening, and learning as they create a vision for what is next for global U/U collaboration, following the dissolution of the UU Partner Church Council and the International Council of U/Us.
The UUA International Office has been honored to facilitate their work, and we have been inspired by their commitment to tending relationships and finding creative and collaborative ways forward.
They will hold three identical Town Hall Meetings to share their vision and hear your feedback.
Monday, November 20, 15:00 UTC
(10am New York/3pm London/5pm Cape Town/8:30pm Delhi)
Wednesday, November 29, 2:00 UTC
(Tues. Nov. 28 – 9pm New York, Wednesday 7:30am Delhi/ 10am Manila/12pm Brisbane)
Thursday, November 30, 19:00 UTC
(2pm New York/7pm London/9pm Cape Town/5am Brisbane)
Read more and find the link to the meetings.
Our Continued Commitment to Demilitarization
This past April, the Intergenerational Spring Seminar explored the topic of “Demilitarization & Abolition: Resist Policing and Empire.”
worship resource packet has been compiled based on readings and music from the Spring Seminar as well as worship services on the theme.
As we continue to live with the violence raging in Israel/Palestine, we echo the words of UUA’s President, The Rev. Dr. Sofía Betancourt:
We as a people of faith can condemn violence against civilians while at the same time engaging the full legacies and histories of oppression that shape such devastating conflict. As a faith tradition, Unitarian Universalists have long worked for peace, and our principles and values call for the goal of world community with peace, liberty, and justice for all. 
[We] pray that those of us less likely to know the trauma of unending brutality and harm will not turn away from generational loss, from the devastating realities and their root causes, or from the relentless tragedy of war and occupation.
Churches for Middle East Peace organized a letter to President Biden on November 9, 2023, signed by dozens of faith leaders, including UUA President Sofía Betancourt. The letter calls for an immediate ceasefire, de-escalation, and restraint by all involved and strongly supports the demilitarization of the conflict.
UUSC on Working With Partners
 
We are inspired to share this update from our colleagues at the UU Service Committee, who engage partners’ global work to advance human rights and social justice through actively dismantling systems of oppression.
Not only does UUSC support its partners through network building, convening, research, advocacy, justice education, and communications skill sharing within the human rights field, the organization also contributes financially to partner organizations to support staff salaries, operational costs, and more. Here is a brief look at some of the work UUSC partners are currently engaged in—and their accomplishments over the last year. Read the full update.

ICUUW is Empowering and Connecting
The International Convocation of Unitarian Universalist Women advances equity for women and girls worldwide through leadership development, empowerment and awareness programs, advocacy, and resources.
Led by Unitarian*Universalist women from around the world, its members include Unitarian*Universalists and other people of liberal religious faith.
Read the latest news from the ICUUW, including a Faithify campaign to support young adults attending the Fourth International Convocation, September 5–8, 2024 in Kolozsvár, Transylvania, Romania.
Support Rain Water Harvesting in India
The Annie Margaret Barr School in the Khasi Hills of India is a Unitarian K-12 school open to all backgrounds serving multiple rural villages and the Unitarian Children’s Village orphanage.
Partners in the United States are supporting a new Faithify Campaign to see a project to capture the water, and release student potential, with a Rainwater Harvesting facility.
UUA Office at the UN
The Mission of the UUA International Office is to:
Nurture U/U spiritual and faith formation;
Promote justice, activism, and advocacy in relationship with global U/U & interfaith partners and with grassroots organizations;
Maintain and cultivate strategic diplomatic relationships to advance justice and liberation globally.

UUA International Office

24 Farnsworth St, Boston, MA 02210

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.